Reflecting on the Hudson River Plane Crash

I’m going to be very self-centered for just a minute. Please bear with me.

Here I am sitting in my office just two blocks  from the Empire State Building. Less than two miles away, a plane crash landed into the Hudson River one hour ago. I had no idea that it happened. I didn’t know anything until I got a call from my Mom in MD.

If that plane had only been off-course just a little bit, I could have been right in its path. I heard sirens all afternoon around my office, but I had no clue what they were for until I got the call.

How is it possible for something so colossal to happen so close to me without me even noticing? I’m sitting here at my computer trying to find live shots of something that is only a couple of blocks away.

I feel like this is supposed to change my life in some way, but I don’t think it will. Would it have been different if 100 people had died? I don’t know.

We’ll see what happens, but I have a hard time just moving on from this and saying “it can only happen in New York.”

Update: Walking through the streets of Manhattan this evening was surreal. How was it possible that an airbus 32o was floating in the river, and you couldn’t tell anything was wrong?

Is it a sign of strength that this city can withstand so much? No. It’s a sign that this city has no heart. Nobody is phased by disaster. Nobody stops to help someone out. Nobody smiles or says hello.

It’s sad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Mind Dump, News and Current Events, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Reflecting on the Hudson River Plane Crash”

  1. coffee Says:

    I’m glad no one was hurt in the crash, sounds like the pilot did a great job


Leave a Reply

