The Right for Gay Marriage

One of the basic rights I have always taken for granted was the right I took advantage of on May 28, 2007 when I exchanged rings with my wife, and kissed her under the chuppah.  It never occurred to me that the right to be married was something I should be particularly grateful for.

It didn’t take long after I was celebrating the amazing achievements of this past November 4th that I began mourning the most blatant act of legalized discrimination in a long time. The passing of Proposition 8 in California was a horrible example of what can happen when people are not considerate of other people’s rights.

This has become a cause I am very passionate about for a very simple reason: it is something that is within my control, and the control of my friends, to change. I care about Darfur, but I do not have the money or political clout to make significant difference. I care about peace for Israel and her neighbors, but I do not have the magic touch to solve that problem either.

The discrimination against homosexuals is something that is being done by normal Americans just like me. If a referendum were to come up in New York, I want to do my best to influence those people I know to vote for equal rights to gays. This is in my realm of possibility.

I will be updating this site regularly with links and stories related to this issues. A lot of what I get is from a great advocacy web site called Join The Impact – check it out.

It’s also worth watching these two great videos from funnyordie:

“Proposition  8 – The Musical”

“Protect Marriage, Protect Children, Prohibit Divorce”

Explore posts in the same categories: Activism, GLBT, Social Justice

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

