Opening Post

For a while now I have maintained a blog through my employment that was designed to get the word out about some things I cared about that overlapped with my job. I am lucky enough that I have a lot of common values with my place of employment, and many things I would like to post on my own blog I can simply post there.

I have realized, however, that I do not really have the free-license I would like to have when it comes to maintaining the blog. I think I need to be able to express myself a bit more freely, and explore some issues I might not be allowed to on the work blog.

You will hopefully get a sense of who I am and what I care about through this site, but I will give you a bit of a taste now. I am a Modern Orthodox Jew living in New York City with my wife. I would consider myself a liberal, and believe it is every person’s duty to do his or her best to improve other people’s lives. I have a lot to say about the culture and society we live in, I have a lot to say about my religion and other religions, and I have a lot to say about politics and the way this and other countries are run.

I read a lot of things around the Internet, and I watch lots of television, and I try to stay connected as best as possible. I will be writing about things I care about on this site, and I will put in links that I think are relevant.

There will hopefully be fun and light topics explored throughout this blog, but I hope to make it all relevant to people who share my interests and values.

I am making a commitment not to moderate comments on this blog. I will not give a voice to hateful comments, but will gladly welcome open debate and dialog – so please contribute.

I hope you enjoy this blog – I’m sure I will.

Explore posts in the same categories: Activism, Environmentalism, Fun and Light Hearted, General, GLBT, Israel, Jewish Stuff, News and Current Events, Social Justice

2 Comments on “Opening Post”


  1. Glad to make your acquaintance. My name is Johnny and I am a goy. My reality tunnel is very different than yours, but I hope that does not mean we cannot be friends. Blogs (and the NET at large) allows for the cross-fertilization of differing opinions, belief system constructs, and ingrained socialized biases. Please stop by and check out my blog at http://www.dillsnapcogitation.wordpress.com. Toodles 🙂

  2. apartment1d Says:

    I can get a sense that we do have a slightly different take on the world, but it’s great to be able to connect through this wonderful world of blogs. You may be surprised to see over time that we may not be as different as you think.


Leave a Reply

